Posted in Personal

Sewing!

I forgot how good it feels to get things out and down on paper (or the screen, as the case may be). I only remembered when I had to pull out a pen to mark something on a pattern I’m assembling. So with that, we will move on.

I recently learned to sew and I love it. I have collected a nice little fabric stash and am working on getting through it, hopefully all of it! I’m doing things a little differently than usual and instead of working on one piece start to finish, I’m cutting out EVERYTHING and then I’m going to sit down and sew it all at once.

 

img_2946
Here’s my little fabric stash!

It’s honestly¬†the cutting of the pieces that takes the longest! Sewing doesn’t take much time at all, especially with a serger. It’s amazing how fast things can get done with a serger. I use it more than my sewing machine now to be honest. It makes working with knits a dream and there are some clothing patterns I can do with just the serger. I do enjoy the speed control on my sewing machine though. It makes sewing a lot less stressful because I don’t have to worry about the machine running away from me and being unable to control it.

 

But I am getting better at controlling the serger. It goes much faster than the sewing machine so there was a definite learning curve when I tried the serger for the first time. I made some wipes though, which was super easy, and was instantly hooked.

 

img_3005
Some of the things I need to sew! A few are gifts.

I have a bunch of things that I want to make when/if I get the time. Maxaloones, shirts, shorts, diapers, dresses, etc. I really love sewing and the fact that it gives me something to do and focus on. I think I would be much worse off without a hobby. I don’t write much anymore, unfortunately, but I can’t really figure out why. I do have stories and characters in my head, but when it comes time to let them out, I just don’t have the interest/energy.

 

I haven’t RPed in a very long time. Over six months I would say. I think about it often, but I can’t bring myself to make that kind of commitment to a partner and then not be able to follow through based on my mood. I definitely need some help to get back up to my old self, but I don’t know who to turn to. No one has really reached out to offer help either. I can do it on my own for a little longer though, just until I figure out where I can get some help.

This post is turning much deeper than I expected. I simply wanted to talk about sewing and not get too much into other things. So I think that I will end this here now before things get more out of hand.

 

Author:

My name is Bran. I live in Texas and am studying mechanical engineering. I'm the mother of two angel babies. I had my rainbow baby on 21 April 2014 at 5:55 PM!

Leave a Reply

